2017 Guam Monster Energy Motocross Championships Round 9 Press Release


Press Release
Guam International Raceway Motorcycle and Atv Corporation
2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships
Round 8

This past Sunday the eigth round of the 2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships was held at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo. Participants and fans were greeted by perfect racing conditions as the weather was nearly perfect leading into and during the days event. The course itself was rough with many chopping bumps and ruts for the riders to contend with. It also provided great traction making for optimum corner speed and drive out of the corners. With little to no dust the riders were able to set sail over the many big jumps located throughout the course.

Class Highlights

Open Motorcycle
With a loud clanking thud the Monster Energy Rocky Mountain Precast starting gates dropped signaling the start and the roar of the premier Open Motorcycle class. Jumping out to the lead was the championship points leader 31 Tim Wenden aboard his Ktm being followed closely by 18 “little” John Agoun aboard his Ground Up Services supported Yamaha. Wenden was unstoppable once again as he dominated to sweep both heats for the overall win and there by extending his lead in the championship points to 20 over second place finisher and second in the standings “little” John Agoun. Taking third was 86 Mike Uribe aboard a Yamaha.

Open Atv
In the Open Atv class Cycles Plus team rider 4 Robert Bucek aboard a Suzuki battled early on with Yamaha mounted 7 Matt Taimanglo for the lead before eventually pulling away to take the win. Taking third was 11 John Gillman aboard a Yamaha. Bucek now leads the championship over Taimanglo by just 7 points with three rounds left to be contested.

In other class results
In the Over 40 Vet class Birthday boy Kim Aiken celebrating his 61st took the win aboard his 57 plated Yamaha. 75 Jeff Rios took second with 25 Larry Limtiaco in third.

In the 450cc class 18 “Little” John Aguon took the win aboard his Groundup Services supported Yamaha and with Yamaha mounted 86 Mike Uribe in second. Third was 25 Larry Limtiaco aboard a Kawasaki.

In the 250cc class 31 Tim Wenden took the win aboard his Rocky Mountain supported Ktm. Second was 57 Kim Aiken aboard his Yamaha. Third place finisher was 44 Nolan Minor on a Yamaha.

In the Open Novice class 24 Jonathan Aguon aboard a Kawasaki swept the class for the win with early race leader 59 Robert Terrel on a Honda taking second. Third place went to 21 Sade Pitter on her Pit Stop Supported Kawasaki.

In the 150cc class 11 Blaze Aiken on a Honda edged out the win on the second to last lap with 75 Owen Rios aboard a Kawasaki supported by Galaide Professional Services taking second and Honda rider.

In the 85cc class 101 Arthur Manglona took the win with 25 Lawrence C. Limtiaco in second. and 76 Devin Encina in third.

In the 65cc class 25 Lawrence C. Limtiaco took the win. Wyett Santos taking second and 52 Dakota Concepcion in third.

In the 50cc class 39 Izaiah Green took the win on his Ktm with 18 Jon Agoun in second and in third was 10 Jerisha Aguon.

In the Mini Atv class 71 Valance Minor dominated to take the win with 27 Camerish in second and Chaco 22 Karter John in third. Fourth was 7 Mia Taimanglo, fifth was 23 Caleb Cruz and sixth was 222 Jordan Chargulaf.

The ninth round of the 2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships will take place on Sunday July 23rd out at the Guam International Raceway. Racing starts at 11:30am and again the public is encouraged to come witness all the bar banging racing action free of charge. For more information including the full championship schedule along with practice and race heat schedules please visit and down load the GIRMAC Team App at https://girmac.teamapp.com . Those seeking more information can also contact Public Information Officer Robert Bucek at 727-5381.