2017 Monster Energy MX Champs Round 12 Press Release


Press Release
Guam International Raceway Motorcycle and Atv Corporation
2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships
Round 12

The final round of the twelve round 2017 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships was held this past Sunday at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo. Once again race and course conditions were tough on both riders and machines. The weather was exceptionally hot and humid making for a dry hard baked course with a lot of blinding dust that was being kicked up my the competitors machines. It was a race where rider fitness was going to make a difference at the finish. With twelve seperate classes competing towards the overall championship that included kids mini bike and atv classes all the way up to the Open Atv and Motorcycles classes it was a hot and long non stop action packed day of bar banging racing.

Class Highlights

Open Motorcycle

Tim Wenden aboard his Rocky Mountain Precast supported Ktm has kept the streak of heat wins all the way to the end taking both the round win and the 2017 Monster Energy Guam Open Motorcycle championship with 499 points. Taking second after two great heat battles with #89 Honda mounted Bobby Benson was #18 “little” John Agoun aboard his Ground Tech Maintenance supported Yamaha with Benson securing third. Aguon also took second in the overall Open class championship with 455 points with #86 Mike Uribe taking third with 297 points. Open Atv
In the Open Atv class #15 Albert Garlit on his Kawasaki pulled away from the field at the start of both heats and led for most of each of those heats before succumbing to the hard charging veteran Robert Bucek #4 who was aboard the Cycles Plus Suzuki. Bucek who got hung up at the start gates first had to work through several riders from the back before catching and challenging Garlit for the win. Taking second was Yamaha mounted #7 Matt Taimanglo who has been in a heated battle for the championship with Bucek. Managing to hold onto enough steam to take third and with the most laps led was the early leader #15 Albert Garlit. With his sweep Robert Bucek for his 24th time has taken the Guam Open Atv Championship with 463 points. Finishing close in second in the championship was #7 Matt Taimanglo with 444 points. Third in the Championship was rookie racer Rose T. Castro on her Yamaha.

In other class results

In the 450cc class #18 “Little” John Aguon aboard his Groundup Services supported Yamaha took the win with #89 Bobby Benson aboard his Honda in second and with Kawasaki mounted #11 Mike Limtiaco taking third. Taking the 2017 Guam 450cc Motorcycle class championship was #18 “Little” John Aguon aboard his Groundup Services supported Yamaha who had numerically clinched the 450cc motorcycle class championship one round early. Second in the standings was #86 Mike Uribe with #75 Jeff Rios on his Autoworks supported Honda taking third in the championship.

In the 250cc class #31 Tim Wenden took the win aboard his Rocky Mountain supported Ktm. Second was #51 Frank Reese on his Yamaha . Third place finisher was #14 Ethan Manibusan on a Flamingo Restaurant supported Honda. Also clinching the 2017 250cc championship numerically one round early was #31 Tim Wenden aboard his Rocky Mountain supported Ktm. Tim Wenden. Second in the final 250cc standings was Yamaha mounted #44 Nolan Minor with #51 Frank Reeses in third.

In the Open Novice Motorcycle class #94 Jessthan Pano swept both heats for the win. Taking second was #59 Robert Terrel on a Honda . Third place went to #21 Sade Pitter on her Pitshop supported Kawasaki . Taking the Novice class championship was #94 Jessthan Pano with Jon Aguon second and #59 Robert Terrel in third.

In the Over 40 Open Vet Class #11 Mike Limtiaco on his Fleet Services supported Kawasaki took the win. Taking second was Autoworks supported #75 Jeff Rios with Yamaha mounted Fran Reeses in third. Taking the 2017 Guam Over 40 Vet class championship is #51 Fran Reeses with #75 Jeff Rios in second and #56 John Aguon in third on his Yamaha.

In the Schoolboy class #94 Jessthan Pano took collected his second Guam Championship for the year with #112 Yuna Song in second and #12 Ethan Manibusan in third.

In the 150cc Kids Minibike class #11 Blaze Aiken swept both heats to take the final round win with #75 Owen Rios in second. Taking the 2017 150cc Kids Minibike Champioship was #75 Owen Rios on his Galaide Professional Sevices supported Honda. Taking second was #11 Blaze Aiken with #30 Sasha Song in third.

In the 85cc class #25 Lawrence C. Limtiaco took the win with #101 Arthur Manglona
in second Taking the 2017 championship for the 85cc Kids Minibike class is #101 Arthur Manglona with #25 Lawrence C. Limtiaco taking second and #76 Devin Encina in third.

In the 65cc class it was #52 Dakota Concepcion taking the round win with #22 Wyett santos in second and #31 Richard Wenden in third. #25 Laurence Limtiaco on his Pacific Unlimted supported Kawasaki numerically clinched the 2017 Guam Motocross 65cc Minibike championship one round early. #31 Richard Wenden aboard a Ktm took second with Dakota Concepcion in third.

In the 50cc class #18 Jon Agoun was first with second going to #20 Jace Calvo and in third was #10 Jerisha Guzman. Taking the 50cc Kids Minibike championship is #18 Jonathan Aguon with#10 Jerisha Guzman in second and #20 Jace Calvo in third.

In the Mini Atv class #2 Wyett Ken Santos took the win with #27 Camerish Chaco in second and #22 Karter John in third. taking the 2017 Guam Kids Mini atv class championship is #2 Wyett Sanyos with #22 Karter John in second and #7 Mia Taimanglo in third.

It was another long action packed motocross season that could not have happened without outside support. A special thank you to the following outstanding folks. Monster Energy Guam, Rocky Mountain Precast, Rocky Mountain Rebar, Tropical Productions Inc., Guam Home Center, Triple J Motors, Smithbridge, Do It Best Paints, Guam Home Center, Pacific Trucking, Guam Ground Up Services, Cycles Plus Guam, Ground Tech Maintenance, and all those safety and technical volunteers.

The Guam Motocross Championships may have concluded but the racing action will continue at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo. Three rounds of endurance type events are scheduled beginning at the end of October. For more information including up coming events and the full 2018 championship schedule along with practice and race heat schedules please visit and down load the GIRMAC Team App at https://girmac.teamapp.com . Those seeking more information can also contact Public Information Officer Robert Bucek at 727-5381.

Comments --